Sunday, November 15, 2009

The Hollywood Walk of Fame

The Hollywood Walk of fame is embedded with more than 2300 five pointed stars featuring the names of human celebrities, fictional characters and animal celebrities for their contributions to the entertainment industry.

There are five categories on the Hollywood Walk of Fame: Motion Pictures, Radio, Television, Live Theater and Recording.

The Walk of Fame runs west on Hollywood Boulevard from Gower Avenue to La Brea Avenue and south to north on Vine Street between Yucca and Sunset Boulevard. The Walk of Fame is nearly a three-and-a-half round-trip walk.

Nominations are submitted annually by May 31, and the Walk of Fame committee meets the following month to pick the next year's group of honorees.

On February 9, 1960, Joanne Woodward became the first performer to receive a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, at 6801 Hollywood Blvd.

Gene Autry is the only person to have been honored with all five possible stars, for his contribution in each of the five categories.

Three animals have been honored with stars (all dogs): Strongheart, Lassie and Rin Tin Tin.

Mickey Mouse became the first fictional character to be honored with a star on November 18, 1978. The other fictional characters honored with stars are The Simpsons, Kermit the Frog, Bugs Bunny, Rugrats, Winnie the Pooh, and Snow White.

One time actor Ronald Reagan is the only President of the United States to have a star.

In February 2006, Judithg Sheindin (Judge Judy) became the first television judge to be awarded a star.

On November 12, 2009, Judge Joseph A. Wapner became the second television judge to be awarded a star.

Four stars have been stolen from the Walk of Fame: James Stewart, Kirk Douglas, Gregory Peck and Gene Autry.

The most honored Family on the Hollywood Walk of Fame: The Barrymores with Drew, Ethel, John, John Drew and Lionel (2) with a total of six stars.

No comments:

Post a Comment